Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Review - Nexis by: A.L. Davroe

In the domed city of Evanescence, appearance is everything. A Natural Born amongst genetically-altered Aristocrats, all Ella ever wanted was to be like everyone else. Augmented, sparkling, and perfect. Then…the crash. Devastated by her father’s death and struggling with her new physical limitations, Ella is terrified to learn she is not just alone, but little more than a prisoner.

Her only escape is to lose herself in Nexis, the hugely popular virtual reality game her father created. In Nexis she meets Guster, a senior player who guides Ella through the strange and compelling new world she now inhabits. He offers Ella guidance, friendship…and something more. Something that allows her to forget about the “real” world, and makes her feel whole again.

But Nexis isn’t quite the game everyone thinks it is.

And it’s been waiting for Ella.


______________________________________

When I started reading Nexis, I thought I was going to get a dark dystopia. At least, that's how A.L. Davroe sets up the story. Before you know it though, you're delved into a magical world full of adventure and deception. I could not put this one down, I constantly needed to know what was next and had questions I wanted answered at every turn. Nexis is just brilliantly weaved and creative throughout. 

Our protagonist, Ellani, makes it so easy to want to follow her story. She's down to earth and relatable on every level, yet at the same time has a strength to her. She is forced to grow up in so many ways on so many different levels through this story, and watching her come out on top makes you constantly root for her. I am so intrigued to see where her story will take us next.

Next, you're introduced to a slew of fellas in the beginning of the book, and once in the game of "Nexis" any one of them could be the mysterious Guster. Guster is simply, for lack of a better word, perfect. I genuinely loved his role in this book and everything he was made to be. I was literally so surprised at the end of the book of not only who we find out he may be in real life but also of how many times this story was able to whip my brain back and forth. Every time a hint was revealed, I would scroll back to the opening chapters for clues...but A.L. Davroe did a very good job of covering her tracks to keep you guessing.

Once I got to the last quarter of the book, it was impossible to put down. I honestly kept feeling like I was in a tangled spider web as much as Elle did. One moment I was believing one thing and in the next I was questioning my own thoughts. This debut is a fantastically written sci-fi, fantasy. I kept having the, "Wait, maybe I should put the book down and go do something else so I don't finish." That thought didn't get too far, considering I'd do a task and want to pick it right back up.Overall, I'm blown away by Nexis. This story is everything I want in aa book and with how it ends, I am dying for the next book in series and cannot wait to see what happens next!!


- A million stars out of 5 -

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Review - Illusions of Fate by: Kiersten White

Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.


“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”


Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.


Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray. 




Reading Illusions of Fate is like taking a stroll through a magical chapter from an older time in London except add tangles and twists and a little bit of suspense. At least, that's how I felt while reading this story. I adored reading this historical fantasy and each story line that was in it. 

Kiersten White has a way with creating snarky, strong female leads and I absolutely love that. Jessamin is as strong as they come in this story. I love how much she respects friends and family, however I do wish she would have given into Finn a little quicker. There was a lot of pushing away when he clearly adored her. 

On the fella side, I adored our leading boy Finn. He's charming, self-sacrificing, and truly does everything for the good of others. With Kelen, I almost thought at first we would get a love triangle. As the story goes on though Kelen, as a character, kept me guessing. I kept trying to figure out his role...and man, I was shocked when it was revealed. Plus, I love his name! 


The only thing about this book is I wish they delved a little deeper into the magic part. I wanted to know the ins and outs and all the secrets, however the book focuses more on the story line of main characters which isn't a bad thing! Other than that, I thought Illusions of Fate was a magically-weaved, fanatically written historical fiction. 

- 4 out of 5 splatters -